First date nuts?

17 Nov

To be honest with you, despite the amount I talk about men and the dating world, I haven’t been on a true planned date for a while. That is until two days ago when I had one. I was asked out by who we call “salt and pepper.” After hanging out innocently for a couple of nights, he said he wanted to take me on a date. He seems (even now) really interested in me because we do have a lot in common. Also, the first time I hung out with him I saw that he had a POF account accidentally (meaning I was looking for it) on his computer, which I jokingly pointed out. So I know he’s in the market for a girlfriend I just didn’t expect meeting a guy like him so fast. Let me describe him for you. He’s a manager of a store, 27, muscles and a cute butt. More importantly he has a great head of hair that is nicely going a little silver with some salt and pepper.

I like this very much since men with a little visible age are pretty nice to look at, and for some reason they seem full of wisdom. I think it made me disregard the fact that he’s from a bad part of Toronto and his grammar skills aren’t up to par. Anyways; my date, I went to his apartment and picked him up (no car, another point against him) to go somewhere I wasn’t sure of. He told me to just “drive straight.” We stopped at the Bulk Barn and got a bag of peanuts, which I obviously asked what they were for. He said it was a surprise but they definitely had to do with our date. Peanuts to start a date? I thought that was how dates ended…

So we kept “driving straight” and then I made a left into a dark park. He said to me that this had been planned for daylight but it didn’t matter too much. We went into the park, where he started spewing facts about squirrels. Red ones, black ones, I don’t know what other ones but there were more. He wanted to feed them! They were all asleep, but the attempt was cute.  Then he pulled out a sweater and water bottles from a bag he had so I wouldn’t be cold, and we sat there for a bit. How cute is that! We talked about cliché things like the stars as well as facts he likes to throw at me, which I adore. I love random facts about something in the world, and he is full of them.

After some kisses we headed off to our next part of our date, which was still a surprise of course, and ended up at a bowling alley. Maybe to you this is a typical first date but to me, well… I haven’t been to one in 10 years so apparently it’s not so common. He paid for everything without hesitation and we got our horrible smelly shoes and got ready to bowl. The realism of the fact that I hadn’t been bowling in that long showed in the first game when I failed miserably. However, I kicked his ass after a lesson and won the second game. I think he tried to play it off that he was letting me win but I saw the sadness in his eyes.

I don’t do guys who let me win easily.

 

After this we went to his place and watched a movie and made the hell out, among other things. Maybe you think I’m a floozy but you wouldn’t be here if you didn’t enjoy that fact.

I can’t decide if I liked it or not. He told me a fact that a small percentage of men can’t … Finish? During sex. This is interesting to know especially by his skill showing that he had experimented enough. The problem is I just know that after 2 hours I can’t possibly do anything anymore and it makes me frustrated if the guy keeps trying. It’s been two hours, the moment is gone. Despite the fact that it was focused on me and that was delectable, I think it raises the bar for when I have to find a way to make him happy at the end.

When guys have this happen, it is almost a turn off. I know it’s not their fault but really I just can’t spend so much time thinking about sex and keeping in the mind set. When I want it I want it and maybe I’m selfish but I want everyone to be happy then relax after and have a good night. Now I know if he wants to hang out again it will likely end up being another 2 hour session and at the moment I just really don’t have the time or the body for that!

If I have work and a schedule to keep I can’t go over for an innocent hang out expecting to be back at a reasonable time. Do I sound like a grandma? Maybe so, but the fact is I’ve had enough experiences to know that great sex doesn’t need to last two hours with no end in sight. So was the date a win or a loss?

You can decide.


13 Responses to “First date nuts?”

  1. BougieHippie November 17, 2011 at 8:31 pm #

    That’s why I schedule the sex.

  2. BROOKEandMCKENZIE November 17, 2011 at 8:35 pm #

    Great tip….otherwise you’re stuck staring at the ceiling or pillow…or thinking about what you should have for breakfast the next day.

  3. nelle November 17, 2011 at 9:11 pm #

    No vote from me, you decide! If you like him, if he has physical issues with equipment function, there is one ready prescription for that. Test drive him then. Of course, being a dykester, not my territory…

    Thank goodness you don’t have a peanut allergy!

    • will date for free food November 23, 2011 at 2:35 pm #

      haha the peanut allergy was the first thing I thought of too!

  4. riatarded November 18, 2011 at 12:30 am #

    haha this is the first time i have heard of someone who… well can’t finish. A friend of mine told me that some guys think about unsexual things to make themselves last longer, which just makes me wonder what the hell was he thinking about 😉

    If you like him, GO FOR IT!

    • BROOKEandMCKENZIE November 18, 2011 at 11:56 am #

      That’s funny because I was told the same thing, the guy I’m dating told me his friend confessed that to last longer he starts thinking about Rosie O’Donnell naked and apparently that keeps him going.
      He’s confessed to me too that sometimes he tries to distract himself so maybe guys that go for so long get very distracted or they get nervous.

  5. EllieAnn November 18, 2011 at 7:06 am #

    Salt & Pepper sounds like a cool guy. Feeding squirrels at a park is my idea of fun!
    Two hrs for sex? Not sure about that except that sex gets better the longer you are together so maybe things will change if you give him the chance?

    • BROOKEandMCKENZIE November 19, 2011 at 1:47 am #

      I agree with sex getting better the long you are together, thanks for the great tips to consider. A lot to take into consideration after a first date!

  6. The Skinny Jeans and Starbucks Chronicles November 18, 2011 at 9:03 am #

    I think there’s a difference between not being able to finish and genuinely not wanting to rush things too fast on the first date. If you feel that he was sufficiently experienced and you like him and enjoy his company, then going out with him again to figure which category he falls under might be worth a try.

    Also, I agree with Nelle…thank goodness you have no peanut allergies.

    • BROOKEandMCKENZIE November 19, 2011 at 1:48 am #

      Thanks for this comment as well, will definitely be taking this into consideration, guess there may be a future blog post on him and see if we did get to feed squirrels…in daylight!

  7. Anne-Sophie November 19, 2011 at 1:06 pm #

    I love squirrels! But as for voting, I’d ask you how important each thing you (dis)like about him is? Is the sex really important or not a big deal for you?

  8. umcheckplease November 19, 2011 at 6:26 pm #

    Feeding squirrels? interesting…. Not sure if I would personally find that cute, but I see the potential. And bowling is a NO go for me… Not really into putting my hands all over dirty balls in someone else’s shoes haha

    Salt n peppa is hot though… I say give it another shot before you make any decisions.

  9. will date for free food November 23, 2011 at 2:43 pm #

    I think you need to give it time and see how it is in the future… if you truly like him that is. I think the first time you have sex with someone it never really turns out to be how your sex would normally be. Whether they can’t finish, they finish too soon, one of you is self-conscious or whatever it may be.

    And I love bowling. I don’t care if it’s cliched at all, I have so much fun!

Leave a Reply

