Our Guest Post on Wordshaker Magazine

5 Nov

Hey guys, we recently wrote a guest post for Wordshaker Magazine and are so excited to have it on their website : How Embarrassing!

We have to admit that on certain occasion we like to amp up the look of the evening with some hair extensions. We are typically not embarrassed, since it’s quite common these days and among our circle of friends everybody seems to do it. We often joke about it and style each other’s hair, clip in extensions or not, we love adding instant length or covering up a haircut that’s a bit too short.

However, one time I met this gorgeous guy on a night out and we seemed to really hit it off. But as we were chatting he kept complimenting me on my LONG, beautiful hair and said that it was the first thing he noticed about me…great! I just couldn’t take the dream away from him. I figured he wouldn’t ever have to know and left it at that. Unfortunately I started to run into him quite frequently and every time I happened to be wearing my clip in extensions. I guess I figured there was no harm in letting him dream since I would never be close enough to him to worry about it.

Of course the story takes a turn when one night he insisted on taking me away from the group of friends and spending some one on one time. We went to his place and after some good conversation and snuggling up, he started to kiss me as I awkwardly tried to move his hands away from my lustrous hair. I suppose as I lost myself in the moment, it eventually slipped my mind that I had to remember to not let him pull my hair or even touch it. I actually succeeded until I suddenly felt his hand grab the back of my head. I figured he wouldn’t notice or feel anything as I quickly managed to grab his hands away.

Getting very paranoid and worried, I excused myself to use the washroom. I was planning to take all of my hair out and hope that he wouldn’t really notice, but realized I had nowhere to put it as my purse and jacket were outside in the living room.

Suddenly I had the clever idea of hiding it in a drawer underneath his sink. I was planning to run out and grab my purse and quickly sneak it in there, the plan seemed flawless until I got out of the washroom. As soon as I came out he was pretty much waiting outside saying he had to go as well and squeezed past me and went right in.

Panic took over me and I started to hyperventilate, what was I going to do now, what if he saw my hair? I calmed myself down and reassured myself that the chances of him going in the drawer were quite slim, but as I waited those, few moments seemed like an eternity. When he came out he was smiling at me and it quickly calmed my nerves because he couldn’t take his eyes off me. But when he came and sat down next to me, his smile seemed to not go away and I realized it was more of hidden laughter. “You look different,” he said and I tried to play dumb by acting confused and being playful. That is when he pulled out a piece of my hair from his back pocket and waved it in front of my face.

I wished that at that moment I could have disappeared. He said that it’s best if I leave and I agreed so I grabbed all my things and said bye without even having the courage to look him in the eye. But as I walked down his hallway heading to the elevators, I realized that the rest of my hair was still hiding in his drawer. Unfortunately I shamefully walked back, knocked on his door and as he answered he already knew why I was coming back as the rest of my hair was in his hand. I figured I was embarrassed enough, why leave it there for him to make fun of even more and have proof of it.

That day was definitely one of the most embarrassing moments of my life.

5 Responses to “Our Guest Post on Wordshaker Magazine”

  1. Anne-Sophie November 5, 2011 at 4:33 pm #

    Kind of mortifying… XD I’m surprised he kicked you out afterwards though! Gotta admit I never realized hair was that important.

    • BROOKEandMCKENZIE November 6, 2011 at 9:52 pm #

      Haha guess in the topic of embarrassing subjects that one was definitely on the top of our list. We have often shared our discomfort with disclosing to some men that we like to wear extensions but I guess it can fall under the category of being “fake.” It will not stop us from doing it anyways!

  2. will date for free food November 9, 2011 at 1:49 pm #

    Yes, definitely very embarrassing… but that just proves he’s not the type of guy you want to be with. If he can’t laugh about it and just make you feel comfortable again–opposed to just kicking you out!–then he’s not worth it anyways. It would be different if you were lying about something more serious… that would actually effect a relationship!

  3. The Skinny Jeans and Starbucks Chronicles November 12, 2011 at 8:04 pm #

    OMG…I’m laughing so hard but at the same time feel very VERY bad for you. Poor you! 😦

    Such a good story though lol. Thank you so much for sharing this.

    • BROOKEandMCKENZIE November 13, 2011 at 11:56 pm #

      Glad you enjoyed it!

      Also hope you’re feeling better, read in your blog about your foot!

Leave a Reply

