So fresh and so clean…or are you?

1 Sep

I will start this post by listing a few things that I am attracted to in the opposite sex…

– Nice arms

– Nice teeth/ nice smile

– Sense of humour

– Great personality

– Chemistry

and so on…

Now I will list things that I am completely put off by…

– Scrawny arms

– Dirty teeth/bad breath

– Body odour

So you see now, the biggest turn off for me seems to be poor hygiene. Unfortunately amongst the many I have had the opportunity to meet and date, some have lacked hygiene on all aspects.

We will call the first one “Dirty Nails,” the reason being that he always had black dirt underneath his fingernails. I remember going on maybe two to three dates with him and every time I saw him I became obsessed with the state of his fingernails. One time we were in a theatre and he put his hand on my knee; all I could think about even in the dark, were his dirty nails and the fact that they were touching me. I couldn’t do it. One day; believe it or not, I confronted him about it and wondered why. I believed that maybe he had a logical explanation, such as he liked to work on his car a lot. Instead I was given an excuse even worse than I was hoping.He told me that whenever he was very stressed out he would scratch at his head and the oil from his scalp created the filth under his nails. This was completely appalling to me. Not only did he have dirty fingernails, but how dirty could his scalp possibly be to make his fingernails black!!! I sat there one day scratching away at my scalp, checking my nails over and over again. But every time, they were clean. Now, because I knew that he must have not been bathing to achieve such results. Believe it or not, I was completely honest with him when I gave him a reason as to why we could not date anymore.

A similiar situation is somebody else I dated that would just absolutely refuse to brush his teeth. Although embarassed to say that we dated for a year (despite the non tooth brushing) within the year, I believe he brushed his teeth maybe a total of 5 times. During those 5 times, when I watched him pull the toothbrush out, it almost felt like a magical moment that I should take pictures of or record on video, anything to have proof of this surreal event.

I understand that guys let themselves go at times if they are single. But PLEASE if you are with someone or starting to date someone. I understand people say you should love others just the way you are. But I highly doubt that if I had rotten teeth that I never brushed, dirty fingernails and never bathed, that they would even give me the time of day. Even if you don’t care about yourself, care about the person you’re with and brush those teeth, daily, and please bathe also daily. In a North American culture, in the 21st Century is this really too much to ask for?

Mckenzie

picture credit

2 Responses to “So fresh and so clean…or are you?”

  1. AthenaVox September 3, 2011 at 3:45 pm #

    How did you ever agree to go out with someone who was so filthy? And how did you kiss someone who didn’t brush their teeth? I’m so grossed out! I’m glad you eventually came to your senses! There are men out there who bathe!

    • Brooke and Mckenzie (@BROOKEnMCKENZIE) September 13, 2011 at 4:26 pm #

      I guess we all do funny things for love or what we think is love.
      I can honestly say that I now steer clear of any signs of poor hygiene or anything along the lines of it.
      Unfortunately it’s more common than i ever thought.

      Thanks for reading and commenting!!

      Brooke & Mckenzie

Leave a Reply

