Guest post by: Anne-Sophie

6 Nov

We would like to start off this week by featuring a guest post from Anne-Sophie from trint.me . We really enjoyed reading her blog and had the pleasure of writing a guest post for trint.me as well: would your man fight for you?

 

Enjoy:

Have you ever gone clubbing in a foreign country? You always hear about how young people all over the world are similar and have a global culture of their own (which is actually kind of true) but there are still some pretty glaring cultural differences. After living in the US for 15 years I recently moved back to France… and boy was I in for a few surprises!

My first month back I decided to go out with a few girlfriends since a local university was throwing a dance. It was a “ball” (sounds fancier than it was) for a very prestigious, renowned engineering university in France. Now the friend who invited me pitched it like this: “there will be tons of cute, smart engineers.” I didn’t really buy it and was just going to go to dance and have fun. The problem is… there were A LOT of annoying guys!

The place was crawling with youngsters trying to get laid. Actually… there were also older men trying to get laid. Boys would go up to us and say “Tu me plais. C’est reciproque?” English: I like you. Do you like me too? To which pretty much ALL the girls would say no, then these guys would move on to the girl right next to her and proceed to ask her exactly the same thing. In hind sight, I wouldn’t be too surprised they went around and asked every single girl there. Either way, my friends and I got a kick out of this!

Then there were all the guys that would come up to us trying to flirt and would NOT leave us alone. That really ticked me off! What happened to no means no? I told them I wasn’t interested and, for some crazy reason, they thought that annoying me would make me like them! Ah…. young men who don’t know how to approach girls… I have to admit I appreciate the shy ones much more than the obnoxious ones.

There were also some creepy guys that came up behind us and tried to pull off some kind of a dancing dry-sex humping hybrid, the guys who threw beer all over everyone, and the one lone guy who threw himself at us trying to make out. Lastly, while we were walking back to our car at the end of the night several guys tried to take us home with them. Strangely enough, these were the nicest. They chatted us up and we ended up cracking a few jokes after we apologized but said we just weren’t interested. What a night!

I must admit this probably had a lot to do with the fact that a very large variety of people attended this “ball.” I’ll probably have better luck meeting nice guys in other places. Still, I thought you might get a good laugh out of this adventure. Now share one of your funny stories =]

Anne-Sophie writes a love blog for trint.me (www.trint.me/blog), a Facebook application that allows you to express your true intentions for your friends without risk of souring your relationship or putting your friends in an awkward position. Check out her posts about dating, relationships and trying to understand men, and email her with questions and comments at annesophie@trint.me.


5 Responses to “Guest post by: Anne-Sophie”

  1. BougieHippie November 6, 2011 at 11:02 pm #

    I dont like dancing with strangers at clubs, parties or functions. When people walk up on my I just scream I WILL NOT BE A VICTIM!!!!! and usually they walk away afraid.

  2. Anne-Sophie November 7, 2011 at 2:57 am #

    Haha maybe I should have tried that!!

  3. jules November 8, 2011 at 10:08 am #

    ha! this reminds me of that french dj scenario that i’d much rather forget…..!!!!!!

    jules
    http://andsuddenlyisee.wordpress.com / http://wordshakermag.wordpress.com

  4. price of a stamp November 15, 2011 at 12:46 pm #

    If I go on a date & its bad, I’m just gonna stand up and say "im an actor, they’re all actors, & you’re on MTV’s disaster date!" & run out.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 75 other followers

